Review: Moonraker- Fail Better (Felony)

Posted: December 18, 2016 in Reviews

I had my first exposure to Moonraker when they played This Is My Fest 3 this past September. As was the case with all of the bands at this particular festival, thy absolutely killed it. And this album is no different. Very strong pop punk of a few varieties features strongly here. “Some Enchanted Evening,” which, though it might be considered by some to fall into the skate punk category, is just a great, bouncy pop song. It starts out in a rapid double-time, but quickly settles into a more mid-tempo, but it bounces and floats along with a cool melody. As a matter of fact, most of my favorites fall into this pattern, although I am not a big fan of the modern resurgence of skate punk. I think the difference here is that Moonraker’s songs are melodic first and foremost. The song is what’s more important than the virtuosity, and the melodic pop is more important than the big power. This is what makes this band so effective – they care about their songs more than their “image.” The musicianship just takes care of itself. It’s been a long time since I’ve listened to the Descendents, but Moonraker reminds me a bit of that great band. Simple songs with great melodies done well. I love the crunch of “X-Rays,” with its big muscular guitars. “The Illusionist” is another great, simple tune, but this one has some great sing-along parts that surely make this a great crowd pleaser. Though every song is good, I think Moonraker saves the best for last. “And The Hearse I Rode Out In” is a clever bookend to the opener, “The Horse I Rode In On,” but more importantly it’s a beautiful pop punk song with self-reflective lyrics and even more than a touch of emotion. It’s hard to put into words how good this album is, so I suggest you check it out for yourself.

Check it out here: https://moonraker.bandcamp.com/

PS

Leave a Reply

