Review: Radiohearts- Nothing At All (Ding Dong)

Posted: July 17, 2015 in Reviews

Nothing At All EP cover art

Radiohearts play a mixture of Power Pop, Pop Punk and the old school 70’s punk we all know and love! They are inspired by Buzzcocks, the Rezillos, The Boys and the Jam, as well as Elvis Costello. This means, that they of course sound very British, even if they are from Long Beach, California. The band name is so-so, we already have Radiohead, how many anatomical words can you put “radio” in front of, what’s next? Radiofoot? Radiospine? Radioprostate? Oh well. The EP is their second, I believe; their first release was “No Reaction”. “Nothing at All” is a 4 track Ep and it starts with the title track, it’s a quick and short opener, only clocking in on 1 minute and 18 seconds. I think the best songs are the last one, “It Don’t Matter” and, the second one, “Heart of Mine”; the latter being a fucking great song! The chorus is contagious and the tambourine is tremendous. I feel like this is a song I will listen to a lot in the future, and it’s the best song I’ve heard in a very long time. Sometimes it just randomly pops up in my head. I definitely hear the early Buzzcocks influence. As well as the bands the band themselves claim to be influenced by they remind me of 999 and the Vibrators. Visually, the cover art looks cool, but I don’t know if it’s fitting to the band’s sound and I don’t think this is what I would’ve expected from the cover. The EP is well played, the melodies are soothing and the production is appropriate. As said, there are only four songs, and it really leaves me wanting more and I’m really excited to hear what they will produce in the future.

RH

Listen here: http://radiohearts.bandcamp.com/

Leave a Reply

