Review: The Shangri Blahs- Ranka Paiva

Posted: November 27, 2014 in Reviews

https://i1.sndcdn.com/artworks-000095467653-mz6u1c-t500x500.jpg

So I’m going to review a Finnish band, and as a Norwegian, they are neighbors! In spite of that, I can’t understand a word that is being sung! Even if we are neighbors geographically we have completely different languages. The way I understand it, the Finnish language is a Uralic language in the same family as the Sami language and the Norwegian language is a Germanic Indo-European one. Well, that’s all the linguistic crap I’ve got for now. I think bands singing in their native language are cool; so many bands just sing in English nowadays, so this is cool! I also really love the name the Shangri-blahs! The guitar work is well performed throughout the EP even if it to me can get a bit too much shredding for me. I feel like the band is hard to place genre wise and that means there’s originality in the band’s sound. The vocals aren’t really my cup of tea, but the instrumentation is pretty good! The second song “Tää On Psykoosi” is really good! It sounds very garage-y, but with some punk added to it. All in all I think this is a pretty good EP!

RH

Leave a Reply

